top of page

Sonata in D Major by Italian composer Carlo Ambrogio Lonati.  Arranged for viola and piano by Ryan Teynor.  Originally for violin and continuo in A Major.


Solo part is minimally edited.  No fingerings or expressive markings have been added.  Tempo markings are absent for the first and third movements to match the source material.


This piece is appropriate for late beginner players.  It is playable entirely in first position.  The piece has three movements: an opening fanfare/prelude, a largo, and a gigue.


Recordings available on YouTube

1st movement

2nd movement 

3rd movement

Lonati Sonata in D (Viola)

SKU: 008
Excluding Sales Tax |
  • Each order includes a piano score and a separate solo viola part.

bottom of page